Digital sewing machine workshops

Would you like to learn a new skill while doing something good for the environment? The éco-quartier Côte-des-Neiges and the FabLab at the Bibliothèque Interculturelle are joining forces to give you the chance to learn how to use digital sewing machines!

The workshops will be held in room 601-2 in 6767 chemin de la Côte des Neiges on Thursdays. Take a look at our events calendar or below to find all of the details for each workshop.

During our workshops, we use mainly recycled fabrics. For this we’ll need your help! If you have linens (sheets, towels, dishcloths…) that are no longer of use to you, we’ll give them a second life. Just drop them off at our office!

Workshop calendar

  • Level 1: You’ve never touched a sewing machine
  • Level 2: You’ve done a workshop but are just starting to learn
  • Level 3: You’ve done several workshops
  • Thursday February 8: Self-service sewing (registration not required), repair and recycling of textiles from 2:30 to 4:30 pm and 5 to 7 pm.
  • Thursday, February 15: Shopping bag: a bag to always have with you for shopping. Level 2
  • Thursday, February 22: Basket: can be used to store various items or for fruit storage. Registration not required, but preferable to ensure machine availability: bicfablab@gmail.com or 514-868-4716
  • Thursday February 29: From 2:00 pm to 6:30 pm, come and repair, modify and improve your clothes and other textile accessories (no registration required).
  • Thursday, March 7: Workshop to finish your current projects: basket and shopping bag. Registration not required, but preferable to ensure machine availability: bicfablab@gmail.com or 514-868-4716
  • Thursday, March 14: From 2:00 pm to 6:30 pm, come and repair, modify and improve your clothes and other textile accessories (no registration required).
  • Thursday, March 21: Kit or pouch? Your choice but either way you’ll learn how to install a zipper! Registration not required, but preferable to ensure machine availability: bicfablab@gmail.com or 514-868-4716
  • Thursday, March 28: From 2:00 pm to 6:30 pm, come and repair, modify and improve your clothes and other textile accessories (no registration required).
  • Thursday, April 4: To be determined
  • Thursday, April 11: Bulk bag: to put your vegetables in something other than a plastic bag. Level 3
  • Thursday, April 18: To be determined
  • Thursday, April 25: Washable wipes and/or tissues: come and learn how to use sewing machines. Level 1
  • Thursday May 2: To be determined
Scroll to Top